Senator Harvey S. Peeler, Jr. Chairman Senator Thomas C. Alexander Senator John. L. Scott, Jr. Senator Daniel B. "Danny" Verdin, III

> Staff: Martha Casto Julie Price

## College and University Trustee Screening Commission



213 Gressette Building P.O. Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 Phone: (803) 212-6430 Email: CollegeandUniversity@scsenate.gov Representative William R. Whitmire Vice-Chairman Representative John King Representative Kirkman Finlay, III Representative James H. "Jay" Lucas

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE November 30, 2021

The College and University Trustee Screening Commission received completed applications from the candidates listed below. The Commission will hold screening hearings in the Spring of 2022. By law, the election for this seat cannot be held prior to April 1, 2022. The election date must be set by resolution of the General Assembly.

## **South Carolina State University**

5<sup>th</sup> Congressional District - Seat 5

- term expires June 30, 2026

- Abigail Busby-Webb, Sumter
- Darrell Johnson, Clover
- Thomas E. Thompson, Rock Hill

-XX-